RSS

Music Moment: Primus “John the Fisherman [Live]”

16 Nov

Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep…….

Shit i need to put my laundry out to dry!

Oops just had a random thoughtjab there when i should be typing. I’m not going to be to long here as i’M off to bed soon to have another vicious duel with my subconscious. I wonder why I’m so tired and paranoid when i get up every morning….

And to continue the short ritual of preparing to post a track, but then changing my mind at the last-minute continues with tonight’s choice. Now PRIMUS are very much an acquired taste. Their jazzprognoisebassrape rock has as many haters as fans out there. I think is partly due to quite a few to the fact that their last few albums were interminable nonsense. But it’s their early stuff that’s best, especially their live album “Suck on this” which i think best captured their essence, so to speak.

And the track I’ve chosen from the album (well there were only 3 available on YouTube) is one of their best known, “John the Fisherman”. The track also has the added bonus in that they start off covering the intro to “XYZ” from Rush which makes for a brilliant intro to the song.

I’ve also realised something that has been bugging me for the last few days. Les Claypool, the bass player and lead singer in the band sounds JUST like Dr Gunni in SH Draumur! At least that’s what i think…

Goodnight….

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in music, Video

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Music Moment: Primus “John the Fisherman [Live]”

  1. VertigoJones

    November 18, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    I love the Primus. I am now prepared to marry you.

     
    • bobcluness

      November 18, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      Woah easy there boy. you should know i am VERY high maintenance…

       
  2. Kevin Shah

    November 19, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    wooo this one was special!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
