RSS

Reykjavik Grapevine: Album Reviews: Björk, “Biophilia”

13 Dec

Hmmm….

So i ended up reviewing Björk’s latest album, “Biophilia” for the Grapevine.

No problem i thought. Just listen to the album a few times I mused. Unfortunately, the track “Cosmogony” turned me into a blubbering wuss!

I know, I know, i still find it hard to believe as well! but there was just something so big and sad about the tune. I guess that’s just the mercurial nature of music. At one moment you listening to an album going “meh, I’m not all that sure about this” (which was my overriding felling about the whole Bloody Bjork roadshow when it first started), the next thing you know, I’m listening to the album again and I’m weeping emo juice from my eyes. Godammit! I have a rep to keep up! Can’t be seen to have feelings when dealing with shit like this can I?

Some people have told me that they liked the review, but weren’t so big on the album itself. I can understand that. There is a rather polished feel to the album that I’m sure some people find a bit cold. And i would have felt the same thing too if i hadn’t found my gateway into the beguiling complexities of the melody and structure.

So yeah, i do like the album a lot, but if you tell anyone i cried to it, I’ll pay someone to shiv you, GOT THAT??

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in Iceland, literature, music

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Reykjavik Grapevine: Album Reviews: Björk, “Biophilia”

  1. Nick

    December 13, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    So I finally got round to reading your review. I have had the same symptoms listening to Björk in the past – not least during the Biophilia show at Harpa in October. I don’t know how she does it. Oh, and your secret’s safe with me.

     
  2. Professor Batty

    December 16, 2011 at 2:50 am

    She’s never been afraid of going for the underground currents of the human psyche. After losing her way in Volta she’s right back at it, making me aware of things I hadn’t even thought about before, much less understood. It seems to be the situation for you too, as well. She’s a class of one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
