RSS

Music Moment: Hacker Farm, “UHF”

04 Feb

You may not know it, but even though I’m a man’s man, and that I’ve only met him in the flesh once,I love that guy known as Jonny Mugwump.

I love him for many reasons. I love him for his taste in music. I love him for his lovely bald, round head (That looks a bit like a fuzzy gooseberry). I love the fact that he runs Exotic Pylon, his many headed hydra of a cultural entity that seems to have the right kind of prescience on picking and championing the right kind of music. I love the fact that he had the foresight to give Blackest Ever Black their first run out into the public through his radio show. I love that he also gave me a chance to showcase some of those 2nd rate mixing skills for his radio show on Resonance FM (A mix that i spent a fair bit of time on only for Resonance FM to fuck it up by overloading the bass on the mixing desk).

But it’s the record label of the same name that i love most of all. As a small independent label, Jonny definitely has an uncanny ear for the weird and wonderful stuff that’s happening out on the fringes of the music scene, and the last couple of months has seen one hell of a flurry of activity going on over there. There has been the organic post step of Shape Worship, the lyrical and bleak ’80s cabaret post-punk of Band Of Holy Joy, and the joyous charming Danish  psychedelic pop of Friskt Frugt.

But it’s the mental rural power electronics of HACKER FARM that has got my udders throbbing. I received my copy of their latest album, “UHF” just after the New Year and it’s certainly a noisy little belter that’s accompanied my dreary work days. I also slipped a copy to my friend Aðalsteinn, who commented that this was an album that certainly pushed all his power electronic pleasure buttons. No wonder – there’s something just so decidedly British about “UHF,” with its mix of  DIY industrial electronics (They have a nice little home-made instrument called the Atari Synth Bucket!), old school acid rave noises, rural self-reliance, and agitprop awkwardness that ensures that while “UHF” is not always an easy listen, it’s definitely a rewarding one. This is a picture of pastoral Britain that more piles of burning tires, diseased livestock, and early deaths from overwork, than summer fetes, cream teas, and upper class Chumney-Warner fuckwits playing twee-folk.

For your listening, i more than recommend the following tracks from the album. then I recommend you go to their site and buy the thing. Trust me on this one, all right?

Goodnight…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2013 in music, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Music Moment: Hacker Farm, “UHF”

  1. forestpunk

    November 22, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    This is one of my favorite albums of the year. need to get a copy of poundland, one of these days.

     
    • bobcluness

      November 22, 2013 at 11:44 pm

      Same here. Has been a little hard to find for me. I will have a chat with the boys about getting a copy!

       
      • forestpunk

        November 23, 2013 at 3:09 am

        when i get 10 bucks, i’m going to buy one of the predistressed copies. nice ‘n grimey.

         

Leave a Reply

 
