RSS

Bringing Out The Tip Jar (Will masturbate in the street for pennies and food*)

28 Oct

1

* – actually forget the food, just give the pennies…

So how long has this blog been going for now? About 3, 3 and a half years? And in that time, It’s seems to have taken root and grown into a sentient monster with a life of its own. But I certainly hope that it has at the least been interesting to read for you all.

But on my FB last night i linked to this opinion piece in the NY times, about how in this brave new  information/digital economy, art has morphed into “content,” and as a result, people involved in creating said art, from music to writing and other things, are now expected to produce their stuff for nothing. What makes it worse is that even if you do take a stand in insisting on being paid for your efforts, then some willing monkey will come along and do it for free anyway.

And this got me thinking…. shit. I AM THAT MONKEY!! For over 3 years I’ve been slaving away at this portal (and other places) producing reams and reams of writing, that is effectively content of no value, because I put it out for free on the net. I am in a way, part of the problem.

So I am going to see if I can try to remedy this a bit. I expect that I have very few fans (My blog stats bear this out), but if you do appreciate what you read on this blog, then I’ve placed a nice donation/tip button at the right hand side of this blog. Simply click on it and make a donation via PayPal. No donation is too big or too small, but anything is appreciated. Most of the money will probably go on beer or new records anyway.

So for Xmas, instead of buying a new games console, or a puppy, give generously to this poor, embittered blogger, so that he can continue pursing his warped, cynical conspiracies against all around him (Spelling mistakes and all)!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Bringing Out The Tip Jar (Will masturbate in the street for pennies and food*)

  1. I'd Rather Be In Iceland

    October 30, 2013 at 6:36 am

    I would donate if I hadn’t had a bad PayPal experience previously. Does the thought count?

     

Leave a Reply

 
